Past Awardees

The William Foote Whyte Distinguished Career Award is presented to:

2017: Dr. Angela Aidala, Mailman School of Public Health, Columbia University
2016: Dr. Jan Marie Fritz, University of Cincinnati.
2015: Dr. Phil Nyden, Loyola University, and the Founder and Director of the Loyola University Center for Urban Research and Learning. 
2014: Herbert J. Gans for his lifetime of research and writing that communicates to   broader audiences an understanding of both the current social fabric of American society, and possibilities for a more equitable future.
2013: Rosabeth M. Kanter, Ernest L. Arbuckle Professor of Business Administration at Harvard Business School and Chair and Director of the Harvard University Advanced Leadership Initiative.
2012: Robert Groves, Director of the US Census, Research Professor at University of Michigan and University of Maryland, and Provost of Georgetown University.
2011: Leora Lawton, President of TechSociety Research in Berkeley CA, Executive Director of the Berkeley Population Center and member of the sociology department at the University of California, Berkeley.
2011: Thomas F. Pettigrew, Research Professor of Social Psychology at the University of California, Santa Cruz.
2010: Dr. Henry J. Steadman, President, Policy Research Associates, Inc.
2009: Dr. Kristin Moore, Child Trends.
2008: Professor J. Steven Picou, University of South Alabama.
2007: Professor Robert Bullard, Ware Professor of Sociology and Director of the Environmental Justice Resource Center at Clark Atlanta University.
2006: Dr. Barbara Altman, Distinguished Consultant Appointee as Special Assistant for Disability Statistics at the National Center for Health Statistics.
2005: Professor Severyn Bruyn, Emeritus, Department of Sociology, Boston College.
2004: Professor Charles Vert Willie, Emeritus, Harvard University.
2003: Dr. Judith Cook, Professor of Sociology in Psychiatry and Director of the Mental Health Services Research Program at the University of Illinois at Chicago.
2002: Julia Mayo, St. Vincent’s Catholic Medical Centers.
2001: Stephen F. Steele, Anne Arundel Community College and Applied Data Associates.
2000: Lewis Yablonsky, California State University, Northridge.
1999: Donald Light, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey.
1998: Ross Koppel, University of Pennsylvania.
1996: William Foote Whyte, Cornell University.
1994: Ronnie J. Steinberg, Temple University.
1993: Robert Dentler, University of Massachusetts-Boston (emeritus).
1992: David J. Kallen, Michigan State University.
1989: Albert Gollin, Newspaper Advertising Bureau.
1987: Katrina Johnson, NIH.
1986: Arthur B. Shostak, Drexel University.
1985: Anne Knettles McCarrick, Medical College of Virginia.
1983: Jack Riley, retired; Matilda White Riley, NIH.

The Robert Dentler Award for Outstanding Student Achievement:

2017: Michael Gibson-Light, School of Sociology, University of Arizona; Amanda McMillan Lequieu, Department of Sociology, University of Wisconsin-Madison.
2016: Landon Schnabel, Indiana University Bloomington; Elisabeth Becker, Yale University. Honorable mentions: Jennifer Tobin Gurley, Colorado State University, and Katharine Broton, University of Wisconsin-Madison.
2015: Marisa C. Allison, George Mason University and Ben Merriman, University of Chicago. Honorable Mention:  Laura Pecenco, University of California, San Diego.
2014: Amanda L. Freeman, Department of Sociology, Boston College and David M. Ciplet, Department of Sociology, Brown University.
2013: Sharon Jank, Department of Sociology, Stanford University and Lindsay Owens, Department of Sociology, Stanford University. Honorable Mentions: Brad R. Fulton, Department of Sociology, Duke University and Tressie McMillan Cottom, Department of Sociology, Emory University.
2012: Oren Pizmony-Levy and Kathleen Oberlin, Indiana University – Bloomington.
2011: Tracy Perkins, University of California at Santa Cruz.
2010: Esteban Calvo, Harvard School of Public Health (with Natalia Sarkisian, Boston College), for their work and paper Retirement and Well-being: Examining the Characteristics of Life Course Transitions.
2010: Charles Varner and Cristobal Young, Department of Sociology, Princeton University, for their paper Millionaire Migration and the State Taxation of Top Incomes: Evidence from New Jersey.
2009: Lou Jacobson, Humboldt State University, California, for his work on motivations and decision-making processes for adopting energy-efficient products.
2008: Becky Hsu, Princeton University, for her work on the use of microcredit in China to alleviate poverty.
2007: Darren Noy for his work Principles for Organic Public Sociology: Reflections on Publicly Engaged Research in the San Francisco Homeless Policy Field.
2006: Antoinette Swayne-Kohlman, Alliant International University.
2005: Dolores Forbes-Edelen.
2004: Nancy Wong.
2002: Kirsten Sletten, St. Cloud State University.
2001: Emily Sama Martin, University of Pennsylvania.
1999: Megan Cross, University of San Diego.
1998: Teri Kepner, Society for Applied Sociology.
1996: Gary David, Wayne State University.
1989: Shari Williams, Temple University.


Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: